What We're Reading

For the past few months, I’ve been using this post each month to talk about what the kids are reading individually and what (if anything) we’re reading together. Because I’m no longer at home during the day, I have less of a pulse on all the books the kids are totally loving. I get to read with them the best of the best, so I’ll still share those here :).

I also decided to add my own books this month! As always, let me know what books you and your family are loving– we love recommendations.

My Reading List

betweentheworldandmeBetween the World and Me

Ta-Nehisi Coates

This book should be required reading for all of us that “believe ourselves to be white” (if you want to know what that means, read the book ;)). Coates writes a letter to his son, sharing his experiences as a black man growing up in America. It’s both sobering and interesting. I learned a lot; I need to be reminded of his experience on a regular basis because it is very much not my daily life. I loved his thoughts about how the idea of race is more fabricated than most of us think.

 

 

invitationtoajourneyInvitation to a Journey

Robert Mulholland

This was one of the first books I read in seminary, and I’m super glad to have a reason to pick it back up again- our adult ministries team is reading through it for an upcoming team retreat. I love how Mulholland defines spiritual formation as the process of being conformed to the image of Christ for the sake of others. That last part, for the sake of others, is incredibly important.

 

 

 

malestromMalestrom 

Carolyn Custis James

The Red Couch is discussing this book soon and, sadly, I’m a bit behind on my reading of it. Basically Carolyn Custis James offers a “biblical, global, timeless vision of manhood that is big enough to encompass the diversity of men’s lives…” This is a scholar I deeply admire and am inspired always totally by. She’s a theological enigma — she has an ability to reach wide across the theological spectrum to speak truth into the lives of so men and women, conservative and liberal. Her endorsements include Darrell Bock (Dallas Theological Seminary) and Peter Enns. To some of you that will mean nothing, but to others of you this fact alone will want to make you go read her book :).

 

Anaya’s Reading List (2.5 years old)

Five Little Monkeys Sitting in a Tree

Eileen Christelow

Anaya LOVES these five little monkeys. She likes them sitting in a tree, going shopping, jumping on the bed, and making a birthday cake– it doesn’t matter what they’re doing- she wants to read about them. She also has been enjoying the versions that include Spanish and English!

 

 

 

Ada’s Reading List (5 years old)

Elephant and Piggie

Mo Willems

Ada has been confidently reading this series of books to anyone who will listen. For those who are new to this great series, these simple, conversational books surround the friendship of Gerald (a boy elephant) and Piggie (a girl pig). We love these books because they are funny, clever, and fun for us to read together. In addition to them being just plain fun to read, we like that the kids learn a lot about reading dialogue — what does it mean when words get small? italicized? repeated while font size increases? Sometimes we take turns reading (like a play)- one parent is one character and the kids are another character.

 

Aly’s Reading List (6 years old)

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

J.K. Rowlings

Oh how I love that Aly is starting the Harry Potter series. She resisted for awhile because the book length intimidated her a little bit. She had been asking me to read it to her, but instead I let her listen to the first one, a little bit at at time, when falling asleep at night. After she finished listening, she found a free copy at a Little Library at school, so she decided she would give it a try and read it herself. She did it! She just started book #2 this morning. I’m really proud of her perseverance. This leap from chapter books with pictures to bigger kid chapter books is a big deal for her.

 

Asante’s Reading List (8 years old)


frostborn
Thrones and Bones: Frostborn

Lou Anders

This fun, fast-paced fantasy adventure is perfect for fans of Percy Jackson. This unlikely boy and girl team have to work together to save their families from harm. It’s the first in a series of books– but I’m not sure how many the author plans on writing total.

 

 

 

 

So this is what we’re reading this month. What books are you reading as a family?

**I’m linking up with Modern Mrs Darcy Quick Lit today!**

 

**This post includes affiliate links. 

1 comment on “What We’re Reading (February 2016)”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *